Customer Reviews

Don’t just take my word for it. Read through real reviews from past customers below to see why you should choose Chasing Light Tours for your next photography holiday.

google
Rob Orme
December 7, 2021

Thoroughly enjoyed my 5 day tour to Skye with Tyler. The process of booking was easy and communication good. Tyler knew the locations well and was able to chose the best for the day based on the weather forecast. He's an excellent teacher and I learned a huge amount about landscape photography. The proof is the photo I took at the end of the trip in Glen Coe on the way home which I would never have been able to take before the trip. Unfortunately the weather frustrated us a fair bit so there was no chance to do any aurora shoots or astrophotography but these we very much in Tyler's plans. We stayed in Dunvegan which did mean a fair amount of driving each day and perhaps Portree would have been better but our Airbnb accommodation worked well for the group. Already thinking about which trip to do next.....

google
gasseyflyer
December 5, 2021

This was my first photography workshop. I am a fairly novice landscape photographer. I learnt a huge amount very quickly in camera setup and composition. Early hops to catch the sunrise. Tyler was patient and helpful, and easy company. Lots of help after shooting with Lightroom as well. What you get out of this will depend on your experience - if you are very experienced then it will be tips and being taken to good locations, if less experienced then the basics will be covered. I would happily join Tyler again for a workshop. Really enjoyable, thanks.

google
Christopher Werner
November 23, 2021

A thoroughly enjoyable experience in Iceland! Tyler’s expertise has helped me view the process of photography in a completely new light. We saw the Aurora on technically 4 nights, very impressive given the forecast for the week! Thanks so much Tyler for an amazing experience. Will be on another tour in the future!

google
Dominique Bechet
November 18, 2021

Great photography tour. Tyler is an excellent tutor when it comes to providing advise on how to improve your photographic skills and composition. He is very attentive to the needs of the participants and always willing to help. The tour will take you to some very nice location for landscape photography. This is not a touristy tour it is made for photographers who like landscape and nature photography. We have been lucky enough to see 4 times the Northern lights, at varied degrees of activity but managed to get some good photography. The tour is fairly fluid in terms of schedule, based on weather conditions and light. Really recommend it for people who want to improve their photography skills, while enjoying rural Iceland.

google
ChrisB
November 17, 2021

Great November tour to Iceland. Tyler makes everybody feel included and is free with his advice and tuition so that we all could get the best photographs we could. This is helped by the genuine small group nature of his tours. Time is spent at great locations at the best possible moments. The day starts with sunrise photography but doesn't end at sunset as we had a number of nights photographing the aurora. This is a photographers trip not a rush around to see every possible sight on the itinerary tourist trip. Highly recommended for photographers of all skill levels.

google
Marc V
November 14, 2021

I joined a tour to Iceland in November 2021. It was everything I expected and more. Tyler is a great non-nonsense guide who creates a relaxed atmosphere while using every available minute. I got some great tips here and there that were to the point and will help me in the rest of my picture-making 'career'. This is not a luxury tour and that's fine by me. We arranged our own food wherever we could. Supermarket, gas station, restaurant, whatever was available. Accomodations were comfortable and clean. And most important of all, I returned with many great pictures !!

facebook
Peter Beagan
recommends
March 25, 2020

Recently back from a trip to Lofoten Islands with Tyler and could not recommend him enough. We had an incredible time, Tyler was always on hand to give advice or suggestions on how to improve our composition or image. His driving skills in the snow was amazing always felt safe when travelling from location to location even though the conditions were terrible. His knowledge of the local area was super answering any questions we had and always had an interesting few facts to share.. Having small group sizes meant that we all got as much help as we needed and he would make sure to go round the group multiple times on each location., He made the week fun, enjoyable and one to never forget. If you are considering a photography workshop look no further and get yourself booked. You will not regret it!!

facebook
Sean Beagan
recommends
March 19, 2020

I have recently returned from a wonderful trip to Lofoten Norway led by Tyler Collins Photography. It has been an enjoyable and rewarding experience, I have came away with great images, a deeper knowledge and understanding and a rekindling of my passion for landscape photography. Tyler was a great mentor, and with a small group was able to give time and direction to everyone. He stressed the importance of finding your composition and if necessary being patient and waiting for the conditions to be right which served me well on a few occasions. We were pleased that his 100% record was upheld for the Aurora, as on our arrival we were greeted by its presence. I would highly recommend his workshops and the manner in which he conducts them. Chat Conversation End Type a message...

facebook
Landy Bean
recommends
March 17, 2020

Been to Norway, Lofoten with Tyler, 7 days of photography, 7 great days in good company. Tyler nows photography and is very will prepared, get us to the right place at the right time, we visited amazing locations, Tyler gives good advies about focusing and composition. Driving on the ice roads is a skill, never felt unsafe for a moment! I would highly recommend booking one of their tours or workshops, you won't be disapointed.

google
Ricky Linton
March 17, 2020

Tyler's tour of the Lofoten Islands was an incredible experience. If you are expecting 5 star hotels and fine dining look elsewhere but what you do get is real knowledge of the area and some great inspiration to take epic photos. We were lucky enough to see aurora 2 nights of the trip but the rest of the week was spent in some amazing places. Highly recommend Tyler Collins Photography

google
Frans Boone
March 17, 2020

Been to Norway, Lofoten with Tyler, 7 days of photography, 7 great days in good company. Tyler nows photography and is very will prepared, get us to the right place at the right time, we visited amazing locations, Tyler gives good advies about focusing and composition. Driving on the ice roads is a skill, never felt unsafe for a moment! I would highly recommend booking one of their tours or workshops, you won't be disapointed.

google
Declan Burke
March 17, 2020

I attended Tyler's Lofoten tour Feb 2020 and what an experience it was. We got some amazing photos and Tyler is a first class guide with great knowledge and experience with conditions being tough he still went out of his way to get the group to locations where others would have just said no it's snowing and subsequently we got amazing winter shots. I would wholeheartedly recommend Tyler as a guide and an expert on Northern lights with such experience and gut feelings which paid off with four nights of aurora activity. Book him now you won't regret it.

google
Andy Coulter
March 17, 2020

I recently returned from a workshop with Tyler at the Lofoten island's. The whole trip from start to finish was excellent. Even when conditions were extremely difficult for photography (2 day snow blizzard), we managed to get fantastic images, if it wasn't for Tylers determination to get us out, I would have stayed in the log cabin with the fire going! Tyler had obviously done his homework regarding sunrise and sunset locations, and due to this we got nice side lighting on each location. We were lucky enough to get aurora 4 nights out of 7 and the last night the sky exploded which put the icing on the cake. Tyler is a perfectionist when it comes to composition and i learnt a lot from him during this trip. If you are lokking a tour where you a going to visit Epic locations, get great tuition and brilliant craic Tylers your man.

google
Sascha Weinert
February 15, 2020

I joined Tyler and Steven for the Iceland photography tour back in October 2019. It was my first time in Iceland and I'm glad they were able to show us around the place. They taught me new photography techniques like shooting panorama and the proper settings for capturing the aurora. They also made sure we got to the best locations by planning out the timing of the light and when it's not full of tourists. We also stayed in amazing hotels / hostels. I would definitely book another tour with them.

facebook
Chrissie Hart
recommends
February 5, 2020

I would like to say that the trip to Iceland was all that I hoped it to be; and more. Your organisation, driving and ability to get us to the right place at the right time was appreciated. I could not have asked for more. To see the northern lights on three nights was icing on the cake and the trip to the glacier was for me unexpected and very, very special. Magic.

google
Jenny Jin
December 7, 2019

A great experience to Isle of sky with Tyler, I have learned a lot from him. I am expecting next trip with Tyler again!

google
Alastair Timothy
October 30, 2019

Great photography tour. Very well organised! Will definitely be booking another trip with Tyler.

google
Jonathan Ratnage
October 29, 2019

Great trip with Tyler to Iceland. Well thought through itinerary and his dedication and commitment are unsurpassed. Look forward to travelling with him again next year.

facebook
Jamie Roberts
recommends
August 6, 2019

What a great 2-day adventure traveling around Northern Ireland with Tyler! Tyler planned our entire 2-days, bringing us to some fantastic locations for what we called “photography camp” for a group of 3 of us. He customized the 8 hr days based on each of our learning needs/desires and made sure we arrived at each location with plenty of time to catch great photos. Even the rain didn’t stop us...it made for a perfect opportunity to catch a rainbow shot. He also went out of his way to pick us up/return us to our hotel. Highly recommend his private tours and we can’t wait to join him on one of his trips to see northern lights sometime!

google
Jamie Roberts
August 6, 2019

What a great 2-day adventure traveling around Northern Ireland with Tyler! Tyler planned our entire 2-days, bringing us to some fantastic locations for what we called “photography camp” for a group of 3 of us. He customized the 8 hr days based on each of our learning needs/desires and made sure we arrived at each location with plenty of time to catch great photos. Even the rain didn’t stop us...it made for a perfect opportunity to catch a rainbow shot. He also went out of his way to pick us up/return us to our hotel. Highly recommend his private tours and we can’t wait to join him on one of his trips to see northern lights sometime!

google
Betsy Marziani
August 6, 2019

Tyler was patient and very knowledgeable. Not only dose he show you how to take better pictures, but takes the time to explain in a way you can understand and remember it. We enjoyed it so much our group would like to join him to view the aurora borealis!

Do you know how to use a Histogram? Or why it’s important not to blow out your highlights? You will have that “Ah HA!” moment spending time with Tyler!

google
Liam Blizard
May 4, 2019

Me and my uncle had a great weekend on the Causeway Coast and Donegal with Tyler. The weather on the second day for sunrise wasn’t great, but Tyler on his own time offered to take us out the following evening for sunset at Malin Head, and that’s where I got my best pictures. Certainly felt that my composition and knowledge of long exposures went up after spending time with Tyler. Looking forward to coming across for another visit!

facebook
Terry Tracey
recommends
March 27, 2019

If you would like to get into Astrophotography Tyler has good value trips to suit all needs from beginners to more experience. Book in advance well worth the money.

google
Ian Carvell
November 22, 2018

Tyler is a great leader and very knowledgeable, I certainly learnt a lot from him! He worked really hard to make sure he got us to each location in time, with good light. I would definitely recommend his services 😊

facebook
Richard Creane
recommends
November 13, 2018

I was out in Iceland with Tyler at the beginning of October and had such a great time on the workshop. I learned a lot and came home with lots of photos that I am so pleased with. Tyler has such a great depth of knowledge both on the photography side as well as on the travel side going around Iceland. He went out of his way to make sure everyone was happy with what they were able to shoot and went that extra mile - literally! to ensure we got to see the aurora as well as driving long distances to take us to locations that not everyone is prepared to travel to. You couldn't meet a more helpful person, I would go on another tour without hesitation. 5 out of 5

facebook
Jonny Crory
recommends
October 23, 2018

It’s been a couple of weeks since getting back from my first trip to Iceland and finally my head is out of the clouds! Such an amazing time and that’s is all down to Tyler! It felt like he had lived in Iceland for years... He knew so much and his plans were so good! His 100% success rate of Aurora speaks for itself lol. I’ve came home with a load of photographs that I’m so happy with. Honestly I would book Tyler for another tour next week if I could. Thanks buddy. Loved every minute!

google
Gil Carag
October 22, 2018

What an amazing week that was ! I already visited Iceland once in the past but a dedicated photography workshop really makes a huge difference. And Tyler is no stranger to the success of last week workshop. First keeping voluntarily the number of participants low (we were 4) makes the experience more 1-to-1 style, more personal. Easier to get advice on composition, equipment,….. Tyler really works hard for everybody to have a wonderful time and to get back home with pictures to be happy with, sometimes driving very long distance just to get the right light at the right moment. He also constantly adapts the schedule to both weather conditions and participants wishes. Don’t be deter by the relative lower prices compared to the crazy expensive 15-participants workshop one finds on internet. This just makes the choice of Tyler’s workshop even more straightforward. Would I go for another workshop with Tyler ? Tomorrow without any hesitation ! Thank you Tyler ! Thank you ! Thank you !

facebook
Gilles Caraguel
recommends
October 22, 2018

What an amazing week that was ! I already visited Iceland once in the past but a dedicated photography workshop really makes a huge difference. And Tyler is no stranger to the success of last week workshop. First keeping voluntarily the number of participants low (we were 4) makes the experience more 1-to-1 style, more personal. Easier to get advice on composition, equipment,….. Tyler really works hard for everybody to have a wonderful time and to get back home with pictures to be happy with, sometimes driving very long distance just to get the right light at the right moment. He also constantly adapts the schedule to both weather conditions and participants wishes. Don’t be deter by the relative lower prices compared to the crazy expensive 15-participants workshop one finds on internet. This just makes the choice of Tyler’s workshop even more straightforward. Would I go for another workshop with Tyler ? Tomorrow without any hesitation ! Thank you Tyler ! Thank you ! Thank you !

google
Alain Ourlin
October 22, 2018

Just came back from Iceland from one of Tylers workshop and had the time of my life. I learnt so much from this workshop. Tyler was very attentive to all that were on the group, answered all my questions without hesitation. If you are looking to have more knowledge in photography this workshop is exactly what you want and need. You will go back home wanting more. Thank you for all.

facebook
Alain Ourlin
recommends
October 21, 2018

Just came back from Iceland from one of Tylers workshop and had the time of my life. I learnt so much from this workshop. Tyler was very attentive to all that were on the group, answered all my questions without hesitation. If you are looking to have more knowledge in photography this workshop is exactly what you want and need. You will go back home wanting more. Thank you for all.

facebook
Nigel King
recommends
October 2, 2018

Very much enjoyed your talk and slideshow at Ards Camera Club on Friday night. Very clear and informative and your passion and desire to pass on your expertise was very evident. I think I’m not the only one who will be tagging along on one of these Thursday night Causeway Coast adventures with you and your followers lol. Super images and look forward to seeing you again, thank you.

facebook
Irvine Ferguson
recommends
October 2, 2018

Friday 28th September and a full house at Ards Camera Club were treated to an evening of Astro Photography with a bit of Landscape for good measure, all provided by Tyler Collins. The evening got off to a loud cheer when it was revealed that club member Keith Malcolm was Tyler’s primary school teacher in a slightly earlier era. So, with pupil turned teacher, Tyler proceeded to educate everyone about the art of photographing the stars and the Arora with lots of images taken home and away. Most were amazed that with the right conditions, the Arora is very visible from the North West coast of Ireland and Tyler illustrated this with many photographs taken from the Antrim coast right through to Malin Head in Donegal. However, most would agree that the best and most detailed images were taken in Iceland where Tyler spend some time as an Arora guide and now regularly runs workshops there. Apart from his Astro work for which he is best known, Tyler is also very keen on Landscape Photography and the evening concluded with a display of images taken mostly in Ireland and Scotland. Many thanks to Tyler for this presentation of superb images, each provided with a detailed explanation of location, camera settings and all the other necessary requirements to achieve the finished product. Great night, Tyler is a down to earth guy with super presentation skills and really engages with those around him. Highly recommended for any aspect of photography, especially his Astro and Arora work.

facebook
Kirsty Crawford
recommends
August 11, 2018

Went to Tylers lightroom course yesterday and I would highly recommend it. I had very little knowledge of the programme but he explained everything very well and made it easy to understand.

facebook
Eddie Reep
recommends
July 25, 2018

First of all, you can not go wrong with Tyler. My wife and I were planning a trip to Ireland for the end of May and I thought this would be a great opportunity to get some professional help with my photography, so I started researching about a month before we left. I sent out many emails and researched many companies and people to provide the assistance I needed. Tyler was the quickest to respond and after several emails back and forth I decided to go with Tyler. My reason, he was quick to respond, spoke to me as a friend would and not a client, his prices were fair and he made me comfortable with the entire process. A quick side note, I was still getting responses after we returned from Ireland. My wife and I both spent the day with Tyler and had one of, if not the best outing of our two week trip. Tyler was just as I had anticipated, friendly, knowledgeable, and eager to please. I ended that day with the best photos I have ever taken. We're thinking about a trip to Iceland and you can bet we will have Tyler as our guide and expert. Tyler, we thank you for a great day!

facebook
Arnie Mcallister
recommends
July 5, 2018

Had a great 1- 1 with Tyler in Donegal. Very helpful and hands on, especially with composition. Would thoroughly recommend his workshop. It’s an investment not a cost

facebook
Mary O Grady
recommends
June 9, 2018

We did an Astro workshop with Tyler and Steven in May. They are both enthusiastic and very helpful and made us feel very welcome even though we are mere amateurs. They will ensure that you get as much help as one needs. Plenty of individual help in explaining all the settings etc. It was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend them. I ll definitely be back for another workshop.

facebook
Wendy Shaw
recommends
April 26, 2018

I participated in Tyler's Iceland workshop last week and have to say I had the most AMAZING 4 days. Tyler's knowledge of photography and Iceland were invaluable to making the whole experience so memorable. He is very patient, courteous and never left a location until we were all happy with our shots. He would review our images and offer advice and encouragement. He drove long distances to make sure we covered as many of the photo opportunities that the varied landscape of Iceland has to offer. I'd have no hesitation in recommending Tyler's Iceland workshop and hope to do another in the future.

facebook
Barry Mc Cluskey
recommends
April 23, 2018

Just back from the the Iceland workshop taken by Tyler. i must say i have never experienced anything like it. From the time we met Tyler at the airport to the end of the 5 day/4 night stay in Iceland everything was planned to perfection ie tyler hired a mini bus with plenty of room for everybody.We stayed in Log Cabins which had everything from warm showers to comfortable beds and all mod cons for cooking. Tyler drove us to the locations and helped us setup our cameras and what to look for. Thanks Tyler for everything and what a stunning place iceland.

facebook
Ivan Skinner
recommends
March 18, 2018

Excellent Astro Workshop with Tyler and Steven Hanna on Friday night. Informative, enjoyable, pushing my boundaries and providing a great start to Astro Photography ... thank you both!

facebook
Elaine Tugman Cahill
recommends
March 18, 2018

I was out at the Giants Causeway on Friday night with Tyler and Steven Hanna. Very informative workshop, great lads. Felt at ease the minute I walked into the room. Would definitely book another workshop.

facebook
Marlene Hazlehurst
recommends
February 24, 2018

I had reservations before going on one of Tyler's Astrophotography workshops. Why? Well Im Riddled with osteoarthritis and to make matters worse I have a fairly old camera. I can honestly say that my concerns were completely unnecessary. Tyler choose the venue perfectly - it was easily accessible and still an amazing place. He is probably the most knowledgable photographer I've met and yet his modesty means you never feel daunted. I learned so much in six hours that will help with every area of my photography. The processing part of the course was amazing . All in all I leant so much and I can now manually focus....a first! If you aren't very mobile I couldn't recommend this course highly enough. If you can climb mountains I'm sure Tyler would oblige. It was a wonderful evening and certainly inspired me to just get out there and take photos.

facebook
Claire Russell
recommends
February 24, 2018

My friend and I recently joined Tyler for his Astro Photography workshop with Post Processing. He was very welcoming and quickly put us at our ease. Although the introductory section of the workshop was aimed at photographing stars he was very able to answer our random questions. We really enjoyed our time down at the Causeway, despite 1) Tyler's repeatedly putting our cameras out of focus to give us practice at manually refocusing on a star (thanks!) and 2) some light cloud that rolled in. The final section on post-processing was vital and, again, Tyler spent time answering our many questions. Would we book on another workshop with Tyler..? We already have 🙂

facebook
Niall Conway
recommends
February 24, 2018

I recently returned from a 7 day photographic tour of Iceland, expertly led by Tyler. He brought us to some amazing sights along Iceland's southern coast. With Tyler providing much-appreciated photographic guidance throughout - particularly around composition, using filters, metering & post-processing. During our visit, we had some challenging weather conditions but Tyler's knowledge of the area allowed him to adapt our itinerary and help ensure that we made of the most of our time on the island. I look forward to taking part in future trips/workshops with Tyler.

facebook
Paul McMahon
recommends
February 21, 2018

One of the best photographers in the business! His work is superior quality and his attitude to work is amazing. You can't go wrong with Tyler, I would very strongly recommend him.

facebook
Matthew Warke
recommends
February 1, 2018

I bought a beautiful picture of Benone/Downhill strand from Tyler which we had framed for my parents' new home; they loved it! In addition to being a great photographer, Tyler is really friendly and organised - all communication was prompt, polite, and the shipping was fast, well-priced, and hassle-free. I would thoroughly recommend Tyler Collins Photography!

facebook
Herbie Mailey
recommends
January 31, 2018

I recently participated in a two day one on one Wild Atlantic photography tour with Tyler. I live in Sydney so I booked it from the other side of the world. It was an easy and pain free experience as Tyler was always available and prompt with his responses. Tylers approach to customer service and his accommodating personality meant that I learnt quite a bit from our two days together in the Sperrins, Donegal and Causeway Coast. He has impeccable local knowledge of the Irish countryside and coastline. His tours give you access to hidden jewels that you would not normally find if looking for yourself on a tight holiday schedule. I would like to thank Tyler for his photography tour and I fully endorse and recommend his services to all photographers from all levels. I look forward to the next time I am visiting home (Northern Ireland) when I will be sure to catch up with Tyler again and try out other areas.

facebook
Ryan Patterson
recommends
October 30, 2017

On Friday night I headed out with Tyler for an Astro Workshop at the Giants Causeway. If you haven't been to one of his workshops before I would highly recommend booking one. He has a wealth of knoledge on photography and is a really easy guy to talk to. Will definitely be booking another �

facebook
Pat Carlin
recommends
September 20, 2017

Excellent Images, the quality of the Photographs show that !

facebook
Katylyn Mullan
recommends
August 10, 2017

Tyler recently photographed our wedding day & I couldn't recommend him more for any occasion. He really spent a lot of time & effort with us getting a true understanding of the way we wanted our day captured. Not only was Tyler very professional but he also made everyone feel very comfortable, relax & at ease the whole day, people even commented on how nice a guy Tyler was to everyone. I would highly recommend him!!!

F*UCK SPAM!

You hate it, I hate it.  I’ll never send it.

Join my semi-regular newsletter to receive the latest tour dates and general news of what I’ve been shooting this month. 

Login to your account
Tyler Collins

Tyler Collins

Typically replies within an hour

I will be back soon

Tyler Collins
Hello there 👋
How can I help you?
WhatsApp